Call for Nominations for 2021 now open!

An award is given each year at the NAGRA Annual Meeting to an individual or team who has demonstrated excellence in the field. A call for nominations is sent to the members of NAGRA near the end of each calendar year and a committee is established to review the nominations and determine a recipient. 


This award is open to regulators who have demonstrated outstanding accomplishments in the gaming regulatory or enforcement environment. All nominees must be current NAGRA members.

Nomination Process:

Nominations must be in writing. Nominations must include examples of actions/achievements by the nominee. Nominations should include the name of the nominee, title, jurisdiction and contact information.  Click here to email your nomination TODAY! 

Selection Criteria:

The committee will consider nominees who have demonstrated sustained achievement, exceptional performance and deserve recognition for their extraordinary contributions in the field of gaming regulation. Areas of consideration may include:

  • The supervision or organization of employees leading to outstanding accomplishments.
  • The enhancement of the public perception of gaming regulation by external organizations.
  • The identification and implementation of significant cost savings for a specific jurisdiction.
  • The identification and implementation of significant efficiencies in regulatory processes or procedures.


Recipients and all other nominees will be notified in early May and the recipient will be presented the award at the NAGRA Annual Conference in June. 

Previous Award Recipients Include:

  • 2020 - Personnel Registration (PREG) Team, Gaming Policy & Enforcement Branch (GPEB), Victoria, BC, Canada
  • 2019 – No Recipient
  • 2018 – No Recipient
  • 2017 – Richard Ask, Gambling Control Administrator, Montana Department of Justice 
  • 2016 – Simone Syrenne, Liquor and Gaming Authority of Manitoba
  • 2015 – Richard Herrington, Washington State Gambling Commission
  • 2014 – Rodney Rickenbach, New Jersey Division of Gaming Enforcement
  • 2013 – Matthew L. Morgan, ESQ, Chickasaw Nation Gaming Commission
  • 2012 – No Recipient
  • 2011 – Michael Petersen
  • 2010 – Dale J. Fuga
  • 2009 – Gerald E. Otoupal
  • 2008 – Bruce T. Samboy
  • 2007 – Norman H. DesRosiers
  • 2006 – Jim M. Haynes

1236 North Avenue West
Missoula, MT 59801


CLICK HERE for Privacy Policy

Copyright © 2019 North American Gaming Regulators Association (NAGRA). All rights reserved.

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software